Favorite hamburger buns

DSC_0009

I don’t think I will ever get away with buying buns from the store again.  Shortly after I got my bread machine I got my bread machine bible .  Other than the bagels, which I thought were good until I made others I have loved all the breads I have made from this cookbook.  I can count on one hand the times I have bought bread in the last year.  Our favorite though, both for hamburgers and bratwurst and for sandwiches is this hamburger bun recipe.  If dakota boy hears the oven timer go off he comes running and asks if I’m making buns.  When we asked him what he wanted for dinner on his birthday, you guessed it, buns!  He likes the plain ones and makes sure we know he doesn’t like poppy seeds.  Dakota guy and I like them with everything on them.

Lately, not knowing how busy I will be I’ve started making my own “mix” and combining an extra batch of the dry ingredients other than yeast to have on hand in case of a bun emergency.

hamburger buns
makes 12 very large buns or 16 of the size pictured above

1 1/4 cup water
1 large egg
6 Tablespoons canola oil or butter
3 Tablespoon sugar
4 cups bread flour
1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato flakes
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons instant yeast

Combine all ingredients in order recommended by bread machine manual.  Program for dough cycle.  When finished shape into rolls. Preheat oven to 375.   Place on parchment paper or silpat lined pans. Cover and let rise 30 minutes.  Brush with egg wash and sprinkle with seeds if desired.  Bake 17-22 minutes (my oven runs hot and these generally take 13-15 min).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

