Randomly in review with no pictures…

I really don’t have many pictures today.  I guess we’ve been eating too quickly to take many good pictures or something.

I made pulled pork again.  We liked but weren’t in love with the root beer pulled pork.  So I searched for something else with the plan of eating the final result with plum sauce.  I found a recipe at The Way the Cookie Crumbles based on a Cooks Illustrated recipe for a spice rub.  I basically used that except skipped the saran wrap step.  I thawed the pork shoulder in the fridge.  Then between midnight and one am the day I wanted to put it in the crock pot I was up because I knew I’d need to go to the hospital soon I made the rub and rubbed it on the meat.  I then put the meat in a suitable sized tupperware and back in the fridge.

Spice rub from Cooks Illustrated

Spice Rub:
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1-2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon dried oregano
4 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons table salt
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 tablespoon ground white pepper

I put a bit of liquid smoke and about 1/2 cup of water in the slow cooker and cooked it on low for about 12 hours.  I’m sure it could have gone less.  The rub was perfect.  Slightly spice but not too spicy.  The original recipe says wrap in saran wrap for 3 hours to three days.  Three days would have been too spicy for us.

Another terrific easy meal this week was fish tacos.  Why have I not made these before.  I spent some time last week browsing How to Cook Everything and decided to make them.  The basic recipe in there called for whitefish (I used cod) and broiling or microwaving the fish.  We wanted a little more.  I ended up with something roughly based on this recipe which uses our beloved Panko.  Very quick yummy recipe.

I made a lovely bread machine cheese bread from a King Arthur Flour recipe that Dakota Guy said tastes like a a bacon egg and cheese biscuit biscuit.  Will make again for sure.  I used a combination of Parmesan and chedder.

We also had PIZZA!!!!  We used my homemade frozen dough.  I will never go back to store dough again.  So fabulous!

beer pizza dough with beer

I’ve been looking for tasty ways to use up the last of the plums from our add on to bountiful baskets last week.

All the plums

A friend offered me some zucchini and since our plants have only one little tiny baby zucchini I took them.  I dried some.  Not sure how it will work in soups/stews/chili which is my goal.  but they sure got tiny.

4 big zucchini became this

I made these plum muffins!  And this zucchini bread which makes enough for a mini loaf or 6 cupcakes and a regular loaf.

One thought on “Randomly in review with no pictures…

  1. Glad to see that I am not alone in my food experimentation and meal planning obsessiveness! Also glad that if I need a cuisine enlightenment session, a walk down the hall is relatively uncomplicated!

Leave a Reply

