Another food processor win!

My last day of vacation today.  Back to work tomorrow.  I told Dakota Boy and he said, “Oh, no, no Mommy back to work!!!”  I have to say I share his sentiment.  It’s been a really nice week.  I love the stay-cation.  Our version doesn’t even involve a fancy hotel in our own town.  Just taking it easy enjoying each other at home and trying not to work too hard.

Plums for Plum Conserve

I used some more of the Bountiful Basket plums to make Plum Conserve.  I used a recipe from the Ball Blue book, but it was similar to this.

I got to use my food processor again.  The smell of this simmering was a lovely combination of fresh summer plums and fall cinnamon and oranges.  I tasted a few spoonfuls that didn’t fit in the jars at the end.  Delicious.

Looked so good we ate before taking pictures

I decided on Lettuce Wraps with the Bountiful Basket butter lettuce tonight.  I roughly used this recipe.  Except I left out the mushrooms, dark soy sauce, oyster sauce and rice wine.  I used regular soy sauce in place of the dark and hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce.  They were great.  Perfect lettuce for wraps.

Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Modified from Skinnytaste.com

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz skinless, boneless chicken breasts, ground
  • 1/4 cup water chestnuts, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce (I used reduced sodium)
  • 1 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1⁄2 tsp sugar
  • ground white pepper, to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 8 butter lettuce leaves, rinsed (careful not to break)

For the Spicy Hoisin Dipping Sauces:

  • 4 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 1/2 tsp chili sauce, I used Sriracha (which made me think of my brother-in-law)
  • 1 tbsp warm water

Directions:
Combine soy sauce, 1/2 tsp sesame oil, sugar, and pepper in a bowl.  Combine ground chicken (I put the chicken in the food processor) and water chestnuts into a bowl. Pour over chicken; toss. Let marinate for 15 minutes.  Mix Spicy Hoisin Dipping Sauce ingredients in another bowl. Set aside.  Heat remaining sesame oil in a wok or skillet over high heat. Add garlic; cook until golden, about 10 seconds. Add chicken mixture; stir fry until browned, breaking the chicken up as it cooks, about 4-7 minutes.

To serve, spoon 1/4 cup of the chicken into each lettuce leaf. Garnish with scallions and a spoon a little Spicy Hoisin Dipping Sauce onto each one.

The best part of the recipe in my mind was using the food processor to grind the chicken from boneless skinless breasts.  I’m not at all impressed with “ground chicken” at the grocery store.  It has no substance to it and seems to have a lot of added water.  This left nice chunks but seemed nicer than it would have been if I’d just cut it into little pieces.  Clearly easier too.  Plus, I get the five pound bags of boneless skinless chicken breasts on sale for between 3.99 and 5.99.  They were 3.99 a few weeks ago.  So, at .80 a pound that’s actually cheaper than ground chicken.

My food processor material recommended having chicken very cold but not still frozen and cutting it into one to one and a half inch strips before grinding.  I did one large and one small breast in two batches after chopping the water chestnuts.

 

Dakota Guy had some leftover rice from a few days ago with the meal.  After supper there was still between a half and three fourths cup of rice left.  I couldn’t see putting it away for later, but didn’t really want to compost it either.  Seemed like too much left.  So, rice pudding!!!

I have a treasured memory of some event at our home when I was a kid.  My mom made some fancy dessert and then some leftover rice pudding for my younger brother (probably 4 at the time???).  My mom must have asked my grandfather (her father-in-law) if he needed anything and I remember him saying he’d really like some of the rice pudding if there was more.  Dakota Boy approved of the stuff I made tonight too.  Good for all ages.  I’m pretty sure this is basically how my mom did it too, minus the raisins.  And I don’t think she added sugar, we just sprinkled some on with cinnamon.

Leftover Rice Rice Pudding

Put cooked rice and milk (any kind) in about a 1:1 ratio in a saucepan.  Add a small pinch of salt and a teaspoon or so of sugar.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Add a teaspoon of vanilla and a few raisins if desired.  Simmer until most of the milk is absorbed.  20-45 minutes depending on how much you are making.  Divide into bowls.  Sprinkle with cinnamon.  Serve warm.

leftover rice rice pudding

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

