Meal planning: June 25- July1

a little bit of everything

My weeks always go better when I have meals planned out ahead of time. My goal is grocery shopping once a week according to a menu and sticking to it. This results in less junk food and less stress.

This week I planned meals Sunday morning while the homemade everything bagels Dakota Guy requested were in the bread machine. Since we moved here we have had really missed everything bagels. My brother has given them to us for a few holidays. I decided I’d take the plunge and try them myself this weekend.

     

Both Dakota Guy and Dakota Boy approve of the finished product.  We are already planning the next batch – some with cheddar, some with cinnamon and sugar, and more everything.

Monday – Grilled chicken, quinoa pilaf, and a veggie

Tuesday – Calzones with some of the pizza dough I froze last weekend.  Need to thaw dough and hamburger in the morning.

Wednesday – Grilled blue cheese burgers (from Better Homes and Garden’s Cookbook), homemade buns (from the Bread Lover’s Bread Machine cookbook), salad.

Thursday – Warm French Lentil’s from barefoot contessa how easy is that.

Friday – leftovers or Mexican

Saturday -Tuna and Hummus on homemade toast from barefoot contessa how easy is that.  I was going to make my own hummus and even had the sesame paste in my shopping cart.  But the two recipes I looked at called for either canned or dry chick peas.  Which I didn’t think I could find.  Apparently though, chick peas and garbanzo beans are the same thing.  While I was learning that I found this great recipe for roasted chickpeas.  Yum!  I want to make them but from dry not canned.  I’m really trying to buy fewer things in cans.

Sunday – Salmon with panko (barefoot contessa how easy is that), jasmine rice, broccoli

Bonus or substitute meal or next week – herb-roasted turkey breast (barefoot contessa how easy is that)

I find meal planning less overwhelming if I sit down with one or two cookbooks rather than my whole collection.  This week it was one I hadn’t had out for a while.  Ina Garten’s barefoot contessa how easy is that.  Lots of good stuff in it.

Leave a Reply

